Announcing the Death of Erin Myers by Viperante

Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK (4th October 2018) – UK based game developer Viperante today announced the first entry in their Short Story Series of point and click adventure games.

The Short Story Series is an anthology series of five standalone traditional 1st-person pre-rendered point and click adventure games. The first game in the series, The Death of Erin Myers, is a dark and gritty mystery in which players step back in time and play as Erin Myers, in all the moments from her life that contributed to her death.

Since the release of their first game, Corrosion: Cold Winter Waiting, Viperante has been looking for ways to tell stories through the adventure game format that are a little different from the standard. Being fans of short stories, and the possibilities they offer in allowing the exploration of specific themes, ideas, characters, and incidents, they decided to create a series of short standalone games.

“I love to tell thought-provoking stories through games,” said Viperante proprietor Daniel Lee Peach, “and so I wanted to find a way to do that without having to spend several years making each game. I also know that time is precious to gamers, and so I wanted to find a way to have people experience these stories effectively in one sitting, like watching a movie. I think that’s a great way for players to connect with an idea or a character in a game. And for a writer it’s great, because you really get to explore a lot more ground overall by having 5 separate stories in the same length as most other single story games.”

Each game in the series will take approximately 2 hours to complete and will include all of the normal adventure game elements: exploration, talking to other characters, picking up and using items, and good old fashioned puzzle solving. And whilst each story will be a standalone experience, unrelated to other stories in the series, they will all share a certain dark and macabre subject matter, ranging in genre from mystery to horror to science fiction.

In the first game, The Death of Erin Myers, players will play as Erin Myers, a police detective who they already know will be dead by the end. The question is, how did she die, and why? By playing through certain key moments from Erin’s life, players will learn who she was, the things she did, both good and bad, and finally, how all of that lead to her death.

The Death of Erin Myers will release mid-to-late October 2018.

Check out the Official website here.

source: gameboomers


© 2019. All rights reserved.

Powered by Hydejack v8.5.2